Football – The History Of The Heisman Award

Toward the finish of each school football season an honor is offered out to the countries top school football player as decided on by a gathering of 941 media individuals and past victors. This honor is known as the Heisman Memorial Award Trophy. While this honor is exceptionally advanced by the media and football fans all through the world, here are some fascinating realities that you may not know.


The Heisman Award initially started by the Downtown Athletic Club of New York City in 1935. It was named after John W Heisman, who was an individual from the club. The genuine prize is designed according to previous New York University football player Ed Smith in 1934.

The honor had consistently been introduced at the Downtown Athletic Club until 2002. The club was situated close to the site of the World Trade Center pinnacles that were obliterated in the assaults of 9/11. The club had to close due partially to monetary hardships coming about because of 9/11.

Casting a ballot Process

The democratic interaction for football’s Heisman Award is on a local premise. The nation is isolated into 6 separate districts with a prominent media part accountable for every locale. This part then, at that point picks a select gathering of different electors that are football scholars, columnists, or TV characters to likewise project votes. รวยกับบาคาร่า

Sharing the country into 6 locales guarantees there will be no territorial inclination for any one player. Right now there are 941 individuals who cast votes. The honor is given out in December of every year.

Grant Winners

Victors of the Heisman Football grant incorporate for the most part quarterbacks and running backs. Truth be told, 41 of the 71 Heisman Award champs are running backs and 23 have been quarterbacks.

Charles Woodson of Michigan has been the unrivaled protective player to at any point win the honor. He did that in 1997. In spite of the fact that he likewise returned the opening shots and punts, he was basically a cautious back.

Archie Griffin has the differentiation of being the solitary part in Heisman Award history to win the prize twice. He did as such in 1974 and 1975 while playing with Ohio State.

Two schools are attached with the most number of Heisman Award victors. Both USC and Notre Dame have had 7 past Heisman football prize champs, despite the fact that Notre Dame has just had one victor over the most recent 40 years. Ohio State has had 6 Heisman Award victors.

What Befell A Few Past Winners?

While there have been numerous past Heisman Award victors proceed to have Hall of Fame vocations in the NFL, for some others, the exact inverse has occurred.

Jason White, the 2003 victor has never played a down in the NFL. Archie Griffin, the solitary double cross honor champ had a dreary football profession in Cincinnati. Andre Ware, the 1989 victor, sat on the seat for a very long time and afterward resigned.

Eric Crouch, the 2001 victor out of Nebraska, has never played a game in the NFL. Rashaan Salaam, the 1994 victor, had a few substance addiction suspensions in an extremely short and disagreeable profession. Maybe the most notorious Heisman Award champ ever is O.J. Simpson. In the wake of having an exceptionally famous lifetime with the Buffalo Bills, he will consistently be associated with his VIP preliminary in the homicide of his better half and Ronald Goldman.

Football fans wherever love the Heisman football prize. Every one has their own assessment on who the victor ought to be. It has become a yearly practice that continues getting greater consistently.

Leave a Reply